Ballina passengers are benefiting from 16 new easily accessible coaches operated by Bus Éireann for the National Transport Authority


The blue and yellow buses are in the Transport for Ireland livery and include features such as; priority seats, dedicated wheelchair space, designated child buggy space, USB sockets as well as complimentary Wi-Fi for passengers. All of the new vehicles have the latest Euro 6 emissions certificate which reduces carbon emissions by up to 90% compared to those in 2000, continuing Bus Éireann’s investment in sustainable solutions in towns and cities across Ireland. There are a total of 78 vehicles of this type now in operation across the country, 57 in the Western Region and 35 in the North West.

The new vehicles will operate on the following routes: 

Route 450: Dooagh (The Pub) – Louisburgh (Hudson’s Pantry)

Route 423: Clifden (The Library) – Westport Railway Station

Route 456: Castlebar-Westport-Ballinrobe-Kilmaine-Headford-Galway

Route 422: Castlebar-Headford

Route 440: Athlone-Westport

Route 420: Castlebar-Pontoon-Ballina

Bus Éireann employs 112 people in Ballina and operates 330 daily trips across Mayo, Sligo and Donegal. 

Pictured From to left to right: Bus Éireann drivers; Tina Loftus Chambers, Margaret Cafferkey, Gerard Feeney, Thomas Goldrick and Brendan Duffy.

Latest issue
Latest posts
Mr David Barnett, General Manager, Engineering, Translink, Mr David Butler Director, SGN Natural Gas will be the keynote speakers at the GenComm closing conference at Belfast Met’s…
Citybus is celebrating its 50th anniversary. Rebranded Translink Metro in 2005 following a major review of the Belfast bus network, this milestone is being celebrated to…
Bandvulc, the renowned retread tyre brand, has unveiled its new Citymaster 5 retread tyre for the bus and coach sector. As with previous tyres…
Alexander Dennis, a subsidiary of NFI Group Inc., one of the world’s leading independent global bus manufacturers, has announced that it has appointed Neil…
IVECO BUS, the urban, intercity and tourism bus brand of Iveco Group has inaugurated its new Foggia plant dedicated to the production of zero-…
A new Chief Executive Officer has been appointed to leading zero-emissions bus manufacturer Wrightbus, based at Ballymena. Jean-Marc Gales has spent over 30 years…
Minister for Transport Eamon Ryan TD, and Minister of State, Jack Chambers TD have announced new regulations which allow holders of Ukrainian bus and…

This website uses cookies in order to improve the site and user experience. By continuing to use it, you agree to our Privacy Policy.